Cooperative Extension accepting nominations for 2021 Small Farmer of the Year

Cooperative Extension at N.C. A&T is accepting applications for the 2021 Small Farmer of the Year Award. The winner will be announced during the Small Farmers’ Appreciation Luncheon on Wednesday, March 24, 2021.

The application deadline is Friday, Aug. 14.

The award is given to a North Carolina Small Farmer who meets the following eligibility criteria:

  • Generates 50 percent or more of his or her gross income from farming.
  • Earned an average (over the last three years) annual gross farm income of less than $250,000.
  • Operates a farm wherein the nominee or a family member provides general management for the business.
  • Has never been a past Small Farmer-of-the-Year award recipient.

For more information and to apply for this award, visit the Small Farmer of the Year application page.

Kang wins New Achievers Award from NCAFCS

Hye Won Kang, Ph.D.

Hye Won Kang, Ph.D., an associate professor of nutrition in the Department of Family and Consumer Sciences, has won the New Achievers Award from the North Carolina affiliate of the Association of Family and Consumer Sciences.

The award recognizes emerging professionals who have exhibited the potential to make significant contributions to the field in areas that include teaching, student advising, research, publications and funded grants. Kang’s research interests include the effects of the bioactive compounds found in onion peel obesity, and the ability of watermelon to help control diabetes.

CAES faculty win awards from agriculture honor society

Beth Newcomb Hopfer, Ph.D.

Reza Tahergorabi, Ph.D.

Yewande Fasina, Ph.D.

Two faculty members from the Department of Family and Consumer Sciences and one faculty member from the Department of Animal Sciences have won awards from the N.C. A&T chapter of Gamma Sigma Delta, the agriculture honor society.

Beth Newcomb Hopfer, Ph.D., a Fashion Merchandising and Design professor in the Department of Family and Consumer Sciences, and Yewanda Fasina, Ph.D., a professor in the Department of Animal Sciences, won awards of excellence for teaching.

Reza Tahergorabi, Ph.D., a food and nutritional sciences professor in the FCS department, won an award of excellence for his research.

CAES faculty honored for advising student organizations 

Three faculty members from the College of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences received the Student Organization Advisor of the Year Award at N.C. A&T’s recent GALA Awards 2020.

Yewande Fasina, Ph.D., is the advisor of the Poultry Science Club, which she founded in 2017 in the Department of Animal Sciences. The club’s purpose is to give students exposure to the poultry industry and its career opportunities by engaging them in outreach and volunteer opportunities, and helping them learn about the industry through invited speakers. The club has about 14 members.  Although similar poultry clubs exist at predominantly white institutions, A&T has the only Poultry Science club at an HBCU.

Andrea Gentry-Apple, Ph.D., is the advisor of the Pre-Veterinary Medical Association (formerly the Pre-Vet Club) in the Department of Animal Sciences. She has been the club’s advisor for four years, having also been its president for two years as an undergraduate. The club, which has been active at N.C. A&T for more than 70 years, focuses on providing opportunities to network with professionals in the field, spark a veterinary interest, promote diversity, and collaborate with community leaders for student education. The club has between 50-60 members.

Valerie Jarvis McMillan, Ph.D., is lead co-advisor of the C.H.I.L.D. Up Club in the Department of Family and Consumer Sciences. The club’s purpose is to cultivate the professional development and leadership of students interested in providing education, service and support to children, youth, families and communities.

The university-wide GALA Awards recognize student leaders, organizations, faculty and staff for demonstrating excellence in leadership, scholarship and service at the end of each academic year. The awards are sponsored by the Office of Student Activities in conjunction with the Division of Student Affairs, the Student Government Association, the Council of Presidents, the Student University Activities Board, Greek Life and the Residence Hall Association.

Valerie Jarvis McMillan, Ph.D.

Andrea Gentry-Apple, Ph.D.

Yewande Fasina, Ph.D.

Kyle featured in News & Record

Crystal Kyle, Ph.D., who worked for two years at Cooperative Extension at N.C. A&T as the coordinator for the N.C. Agromedicine Institute, was featured recently in an article in the News & Record newspaper: “In the healing field.” The article highlighted her military career and work at A&T.

She was also the director of North Carolina’s chapter of the AgrAbility program, a national program funded by the USDA to provide disabled people, including veterans, with the assistance they need to continue to lead productive, safe, successful lives in production agriculture.